If something I've said offends you don't get angry and leave. Stay and help me to understand why.

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

A matter of public safety

Once again it is a stretch to find something good to blog about!...thinking....ummmm....nothing!
But! I certainly can tell you of ghastly encounter down at the local walmart! Well there we are me and my kids trying to have a "peaceful" shopping experience. But no, that's not possible where I live. There was this very mentally handicapped child running a muck around the store. Yelling and trashing the toys on the shelves and generally terrifying those around him. It was very annoying. I wanted no part of this situation. I was disgusted. Kind of shocked I am not more understanding about the situation? Well before you go and draw a conclusion about me or judge me, let me extrapolate further.

Being a person with a mental disability, I understand over stimulation and the physical bodies reactions it can involuntarily cause. I am not offended by the child with the mental disability I am offended that his caretaker would expose him to so much outside stimulus that he would become violent. I could see that this child was WAY overstimulated. That is why he was yelling and running and smashing toys on the shelf. That is why his caretaker had NO control over him. This is where I will step back again and repeat what I have stated before, that NT's are clueless. You know when I was taking a Human Services course at a Community College I wanted to become a drug and alcohol counselor. You know what I was told? I was told I would either have to had been an addict or I would have to have lived with an addict or I would NOT get hired as a drug and alcohol counselor by anyone! Why? Because addicts don't want to be lectured by people who haven't got a clue what there going through. There not trying to be callous or mean. They just feel more comfortable talking with someone who has either been through the same thing as they have or experience with a person that is or has been and addict. Totally understandable. I feel the same way about The Aspergers. I don't want an NT diagnosing me. I don't feel I will get a proper diagnosis with someone who has NO idea what I am going through. I don't care how much collage you've got under your belt. You still can not possible completely understand what I am going through. My husband is a case and point. I have been with him since I was 17 I am now 42 about to be 43. 25 years we have been together and he is still clueless. He still can't understand what I am going through. He never takes into consideration my feelings or how a situation will affect me emotionally not because he is a callous person but because he has never been Asperger! Heck he thinks just because he doesn't like large crowds and isn't good at customer service he is Asperger. HA! NO! Don't think so pal, it goes way beyond a dislike for large crowds and being inept at dealing with unruly customers.

In my opinion if she wanted to have this child to have the store experience she should start with taking him to the store when there aren't so many people. I know I am not akin to going to the store when it is super busy. It is really tough on me. It usually results in an anxiety attack. I won't normally put my self in that position. I did today but I didn't realize I was doing it. Week days are usually dead at the store. But for some reason lately they haven't been. Back to school shopping I suppose?

Interrupted. Window Closed.

Window Open able to come back for a moment to close.

If I was the caretaker I would start with minimal exposure to store trips. If the child could successfully handle the trips then I would proceed further. Not just plop him into chaos because I feel he needs to "learn" to function in society(or what ever crazy reason she's doing this for). See, what I forgot to mention is this isn't the first time we've seen these two in the store the other day she brought the child in Wegmans and he was a terror there also. He at one point grabbed there cart and ran as fast as he could around the corner heading down to the other end of the store, He almost plowed in to my son Caleb. And as fast as he was going and as much power as that kid had behind him he would of hurt Caleb if he ran into him. It was amazing he didn't run into someone. My God if he ran into my daughter or my son I would of flipped out on that caretaker. I don't care what your excuses are be a responsible caretaker. If that kid is putting other people in danger (which he was) with his behavior than he shouldn't be in that situation. She needs to think of other people also not just the mentally handicapped child.

People just don't think.


Note:
If this blog sounds a tad rough it's because I am blogging at the most craziest time for me to blog. During the middle of the day with everyone home! Bad plan. I shouldn't of done it. I should of waited until late at night when I can concentrate and get thing out correctly. But I guess I just had to get that off my chest.

1 comment:

  1. It's a good point. I don't think that you need to apply it to diagnosis though. After all, it's pretty easy to point the finger and say "that person is an alcoholic".

    It's not the diagnosis so much as the subsequent treatment. Anything past finger-pointing really needs someone who has "been there".

    ReplyDelete

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.